• DE
  • lupes

Corporate Governance

Declaration by Energiekontor AG on the German Corporate Governance Code pursuant to Section 161 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG)

Declaration by the Board of Management and the Supervisory Board of Energiekontor AG on the recommendations of the "Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code" pursuant to Section 161 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG).

1. Since the last declaration of conformity in March 2020, Energiekontor AG has complied with the recommendations of the "Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code" in accordance with the then applicable version of the German Corporate Governance Code dated 7 February 2017, with the exceptions to sections 3.8 Abs. 3, 4.1.5, 5.1.2, 5.4.1 and 7.1.2:

2. Energiekontor AG will comply with the recommendations of the "Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code" in the version dated 16 December 2019 with the exceptions listed below:

Section A.1 When filling management positions, the Executive Board shall be guided by the requirements of the relevant function and shall look for the best possible person who meets these requirements. If several equally qualified female or male candidates are available, the executive board shall pay attention to diversity and an appropriate consideration of women in the Company when making appointments, without making these criteria a primary principle.

Section B.1 The Supervisory Board bases its appointments to the Executive Board on suitability and qualifications and seeks the best possible appointments to Executive Board positions. Furthermore, the Supervisory Board considers it appropriate not to make the selection of Executive Board members dependent on criteria such as individual orientation or gender, but rather solely on their personality and expertise. In the opinion of the Company, the special weighting of further criteria prescribed by the Code would limit the selection of possible female or male candidates for the Executive Board.

Section C.1 The recommendations in C.1 were not complied with. Suitability, experience and qualifications are also the decisive selection criteria for appointments to the Supervisory Board. Being bound by specifications regarding future appointments restricts flexibility without any other advantages for the Company. This applies all the more as the Supervisory Board consists of only three members.

Section C.7 The current Supervisory Board consists of three persons. Two members are the founders of the Company. In order to comply with the recommendation of the GCGC, the supervisory board would have to be expanded to at least 5 persons. This is not considered appropriate.

Section C87 In the opinion of the Supervisory Board, no conclusion can be drawn from the length of membership of the Supervisory Board as to the independence of the respective member and, furthermore, there have been no indications to date of a lack of independence on the part of Dr Bodo Wilkens or Mr Günter Lammers.

Section C.10 The Company's Supervisory Board consists of three members. Committees cannot be sensibly formed and are not necessary from the point of view of the Supervisory Board. The Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Dr Bodo Wilkens, has been a member of the Supervisory Board of Energiekontor AG for more than 12 years, but is considered independent of the Company with reference to recommendation C.8.

Section D2-5 and D.11 The Company's Supervisory Board consists of three members. Committees cannot reasonably be formed and are not necessary from the Supervisory Board's point of view. The formation of an audit committee and a nomination committee would not result in an efficient division of labour within the Supervisory Board, as the relevant complexes of topics and issues are discussed in plenary sessions. The circumstances of the Company do not require the formation of other committees.

Section G1 A remuneration system following the recommendations of G.1 has not yet been decided. The Supervisory Board will decide on such a remuneration system in good time before the invitation to the Annual General Meeting in 2021 and present it to the shareholders for approval at the Annual General Meeting following 31 December 2020 in accordance with the transitional provision of § 26j of the Introductory Act to the German Stock Corporation Act. After approval of the remuneration system by the Annual General Meeting on 20 May 2021, the Declaration of Conformity will be updated accordingly.

Section G2 The remuneration system to be determined in accordance with recommendation G.1 has not yet been resolved. Following the resolution of the Annual General Meeting on the new remuneration system, the Supervisory Board intends to take recommendation G.2 into account when concluding new Executive Board contracts.

Section G10 Recommendation G.10 was newly introduced. Recommendation G.10 is not complied with.  The Supervisory Board intends to take into account the recommendation of a partial share-based variable remuneration when concluding new Executive Board contracts, if appropriate in the individual case.

Section G11 Recommendation G.11 was newly introduced. Recommendation G.11 is not complied with.  As a matter of principle, variable performance-based remuneration is only paid out if agreed targets have been achieved. A clawback of variable remuneration is therefore not applicable due to the achievement of targets.

Section G13 Recommendation G.13 was newly introduced. Recommendation G.13 is currently not complied with. The Supervisory Board intends to take recommendation G.13 into account when concluding new Executive Board contracts.

Bremen, March 2021

For the Management Board

Peter Szabo

Chairman of the Management Board

For the Supervisory Board 

Dr. Bodo Wilkens

Chairman of the Supervisory Board

• EN
  • lupes

Corporate Governance

Erklärung der Energiekontor AG zum Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex gemäß § 161 AktG

Erklärung des Vorstands und des Aufsichtsrats der Energiekontor AG zu den Empfehlungen der „Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex“ gemäß § 161 AktG.

1. Die Energiekontor AG hat den Empfehlungen der "Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex" seit der letzten Entsprechenserklärung im März 2019 entsprechend der damals geltenden Fassung des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodexes vom 7. Februar 2017 mit Ausnahme der Empfehlungen zu Ziffer 3.8 Abs. 3, Ziffer 4.1.5, Ziffer 5.1.2, Ziffer 5.4.1 und Ziffer 7.1.2 entsprochen.

2. Die Energiekontor AG wird den Empfehlungen der "Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex" in dervom Bundesministerium der Justiz im amtlichen Teil des Bundesanzeigers am 20. März 2020 bekannt gemachten Fassung vom 16. Dezember 2019 mit den nachfolgend aufgeführten Ausnahmen entsprechen:

Ziff. A.1: Bei der Besetzung von Führungsfunktionen orientiert sich der Vorstand an den Anforderungen der entsprechenden Funktion und sucht nach der bestmöglichen Person, die diese Anforderungen erfüllt. Stehen mehrere gleich qualifizierte Kandidatinnen oder Kandidaten zur Verfügung, achtet der Vorstand bei der Besetzung auf die Vielfalt und eine angemessene Berücksichtigung von Frauen im Unternehmen, ohne diese Kriterien zu einem vorrangigen Prinzip zu machen.

Ziff. B.1: Der Aufsichtsrat orientiert sich bei der Besetzung des Vorstands an der Eignung und Qualifikation und sucht nach der bestmöglichen Besetzung der Vorstandspositionen. Ferner hält es der Aufsichtsrat für sachgerecht, die Auswahl der Vorstandsmitglieder nicht von Kriterien wie beispielsweise individuelle Orientierung oder Geschlecht, sondern vielmehr ausschließlich von ihrer Persönlichkeit und ihrem Sachverstand abhängig zu machen. Nach Auffassung der Gesellschaft würde die vom Kodex vorgegebene besondere Gewichtung weiterer Kriterien die Auswahl möglicher Kandidatinnen oder Kandidaten für den Vorstand einschränken.

Ziff. C.1 Den Empfehlungen in C.1 wurde nicht entsprochen. Auch bei der Besetzung des Aufsichtsrats gilt, dass Eignung, Erfahrung und Qualifikation die maßgeblichen Auswahlkriterien sind. Eine Bindung an Vorgaben hinsichtlich der zukünftigen Besetzung schränkt die Flexibilität ein, ohne dass damit anderweitige Vorteile für das Unternehmen verbunden wären. Dies gilt umso mehr, als der Aufsichtsrat nur aus drei Mitgliedern besteht.

Ziff. C.7 Der aktuelle Aufsichtsrat besteht aus drei Personen. Zwei Mitglieder sind die Gründer des Unternehmens. Um der Empfehlung des DCGK gerecht zu werden, müsste der Aufsichtsrat auf mindestens 5 Personen erweitert werden. Dies wird nicht als zweckdienlich angesehen.

Ziff. C.8 Nach Ansicht des Aufsichtsrats kann von der Dauer der Zugehörigkeit zum Aufsichtsrat kein Rückschluss auf die Unabhängigkeit des jeweiligen Mitglieds gezogen werden und es hat darüber hinaus bisher keine Anzeichen für eine fehlende Unabhängigkeit auf Seiten von Herrn Dr. Bodo Wilkens sowie Herrn Günter Lammers gegeben.

Ziff. C.10 Der Aufsichtsrat des Unternehmens besteht aus drei Mitgliedern. Ausschüsse können nicht sinnvoll gebildet werden und sind aus Sicht des Aufsichtsrats nicht erforderlich. Der Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende Herr Dr. Bodo Wilkens ist seit mehr als 12 Jahren Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Energiekontor AG, wird aber unter Bezugnahme auf Empfehlung C.8 als unabhängig von der Gesellschaft angesehen.

Ziff. D.2-5 und D.11  Der Aufsichtsrat des Unternehmens besteht aus drei Mitgliedern. Ausschüsse können nicht sinnvoll gebildet werden und sind aus Sicht des Aufsichtsrats nicht erforderlich. Die Bildung eines Prüfungs- und eines Nominierungsausschusses zöge keine effiziente Arbeitsteilung im Aufsichtsrat nach sich, da die relevanten Themenkomplexe und Fragen im Plenum besprochen werden. Die Gegebenheiten des Unternehmens erfordern nicht die Bildung anderer Ausschüsse.

Ziff. G.1 Ein den Empfehlungen von G.1 folgendes Vergütungssystem ist noch nicht beschlossen worden. Der Aufsichtsrat wird ein solches Vergütungssystem rechtzeitig vor der Einladung zur ordentlichen Hauptversammlung 2021 beschließen und den Aktionären nach der Übergangsvorschrift des § 26j Einführungsgesetz zum Aktiengesetz in der ordentlichen Hauptversammlung, die auf den 31. Dezember 2020 folgt, zur Billigung vorlegen. Nach Billigung des Vergütungssystems durch die Hauptversammlung am 20 Mai 2021 wird die Entsprechenserklärung entsprechend aktualisiert.

Ziff. G.2 Das gemäß Empfehlung G.1 festzulegende Vergütungssystem wurde noch nicht beschlossen. Nach der Beschlussfassung der Hauptversammlung über das neue Vergütungssystem beabsichtigt der Aufsichtsrat bei Abschluss neuer Vorstandsverträge die Empfehlung G.2 zu berücksichtigen.

Ziff. G.10 Die Empfehlung G.10 wurde neu eingeführt. Der Empfehlung G.10 wird nicht entsprochen.  Der Aufsichtsrat beabsichtigt, die Empfehlung einer teilweisen aktienbasierten variablen Vergütung bei Abschluss neuer Vorstandsverträge zu berücksichtigen, soweit im Einzelfall zweckmäßig.

Ziff. G.11 Die Empfehlung G.11 wurde neu eingeführt. Der Empfehlung G.11 wird  nicht entsprochen.  Variable Erfolgsvergütungen werden grundsätzlich nur ausgezahlt, wenn vereinbarte Ziele erreicht wurden. Eine Rückforderung von variablen Vergütungen kommt daher aufgrund der erfolgten Zielerreichung nicht zum Tragen.

Ziff. G.13 Die Empfehlung wurde neu eingeführt. Der Empfehlung G.13 wird derzeit nicht entsprochen. Der Aufsichtsrat beabsichtigt, die Empfehlung G.13 bei Abschluss neuer Vorstandsverträge zu berücksichtigen .

Bremen, im März 2021

Für den Vorstand

Peter Szabo (Vorsitzender)

Für den Aufsichtsrat

Dr. Bodo Wilkens, Vorsitzender